Η «βελτιωμένη» εφαρμογή Google Play μπορεί να δώσει σε κακόβουλους προγραμματιστές πλήρη πρόσβαση στο android σας! |The Hacker News

Στα Ελληνικά:

Η γκούγκλ (ε, ελληνικά είπα 🙂 ) έχει προσθέσει  σε Ομάδες τα  απαραίτητα δικαιώματα πρόσβασης ή/και ασφάλειας που χρειάζονται οι εφαρμογές τους, για να  εκτελεστούν. Η νέα έκδοσης της πλατφόρμας αγοράς έχει αυτή την ομαδοποίηση. Αυτό σημαίνει πως  όσοι  προγραμματιστές  το επιθυμούν  μπορούν να «κρύψουν» μέσα στις ομάδες αυτές δικαιώματα πρόσβασης που θα μπορούσαν να πάρουν τον πλήρη έλεγχο  λειτουργιών  ή και όλου του τηλεφώνου σας.

Οι νέοι «χακερς» θα  προσπαθήσουν να  ξεγελάσουν όσους χρήστες δεν «αναπτύξουν » τις  ομάδες των δικαιωμάτων  που έφτιαξε  η Γκούγκλ (ελληνικά είπαμε… :Ρ)  ώστε  οι  ίδιοι να ελεγξουν  τι  ακριβώς δικαιώματα  ζητά η εφαρμογή από τον χρήστη για να εκτελεσθεί.

Σας καλώ να ααναπτύσετε όλες τις ομάδες δικαιωμάτων  και να  διαβάζετε  ένα  ένα  τα προαπαιτούμενα για τις  νέες εφαρμογές  που θα κατεβάσετε , καθώς επίσης  και να  σταματήσετε  την αυτόματη ενημέρωση  ΟΛΩΝ των εφαρμογών σας, γιατί ήδη  έχει υιοθετηθεί η θετική σας απόκριση  για το σύνολο των ομάδων  που  η εγκατεστημένη εφαρμογή ζητάει.

android app

fifa live steaming app

 

Ακολουθεί το Αγγλικό  κείμενο:

 

android app

Google just made a huge change to the way application permissions work on Android devices which has left a potential door open to malicious app developers and hackers.

Google narrows down Android’s 145 permissions into 13 broad categories and groups app permissions into ‘groups of related permissions‘, likely for Android users to have an easier time dealing with app permissions.
Unfortunately, the new update has introduced a few potential security and privacy issues, as listed below:
  • hiding permissions behind the group names
  • auto-updating app with no warning for new permissions
According to new update, once a user approves an app’s permissions, he actually approves the whole respective permission groups. For example, if an app want to read your incoming SMS messages, then it requires the “Read SMS messages” permission. But now installing an app, you are actually giving it access to all SMS-related permissions.
The app developer can then include additional permissions from ‘SMS-related permissions Group’, in a future update, which will not trigger any warning before installation.

Google explains, “If you have automatic updates enabled, you won’t need to review or accept these permissions as long as they are included in a permissions group you already accepted for that app.

If your Android apps update automatically, then malicious developers can gain access to new dangerous permissions without your knowledge by abusing this mechanism, though a smart user could manually view all permissions in a dropdown before installation, but one out of thousands does that.

fifa live steaming app

For example, as you can see in the above screenshots – I am installing FIFA’s android app from Google Play Store and before installation the app is asking for group permissions in left image and actual group permissions are expanded in the right-side image.

Similarly, if you install any app with group permissions to read contacts, later that app can secretly gain permission to add or even change calendar entries too.

Below I have listed some most abused Android app permissions that cyber criminals are exploiting for their personal gain:

  • GPS Location and Network-based Location
  • Read Phone State and Identity
  • Automatically Start at Boot
  • Modify/Delete SD Card Contents
  • Read/Send SMS Messages
  • Read/Modify Contacts
I strongly recommend users to disable automatic updates and verify app permissions manually every time an app wants to update.

Σχολιάστε

Εισάγετε τα παρακάτω στοιχεία ή επιλέξτε ένα εικονίδιο για να συνδεθείτε:

Λογότυπο WordPress.com

Σχολιάζετε χρησιμοποιώντας τον λογαριασμό WordPress.com. Αποσύνδεση / Αλλαγή )

Φωτογραφία Twitter

Σχολιάζετε χρησιμοποιώντας τον λογαριασμό Twitter. Αποσύνδεση / Αλλαγή )

Φωτογραφία Facebook

Σχολιάζετε χρησιμοποιώντας τον λογαριασμό Facebook. Αποσύνδεση / Αλλαγή )

Φωτογραφία Google+

Σχολιάζετε χρησιμοποιώντας τον λογαριασμό Google+. Αποσύνδεση / Αλλαγή )

Σύνδεση με %s